The DFA was established in 2007 to promote and protect the interests of doc filmmakers in South Africa. To contact the DFA, please use the contact form: here . The DFA website is at: Membership applications can be made through the website here.

01 November 2010

SOS Welcomes the New Minister and New Deputy Minister of Communications

SOS welcomes the appointment of Mr. Roy Padayachie as Minister of Communications and Mr. Obed Bapela as Deputy Minister. SOS believes that there are a number of serious challenges in the communications sector. We hope the new Minister and Deputy Minister will swiftly address these.

Some of the challenges include:
- The serious lack of capacity in the Department of Communications
- The serious corporate governance breaches and governance crises at the SABC
- Serious corporate governance crises at Sentech
- The lack of a policy review process as regards current draft legislation including the Public
Service Broadcasting Bill and ICASA Amendment Bill
- Problems around government’s shift from European digital standards to Japanese/ Brazilian
standards without any clear explanations as to the rational behind these shifts or guarantees
that the new standards will in fact ensure the manufacture of cheap, accessible set top boxes.

SOS will be requesting a meeting with the new Minister to raise these issues.

For more information:
Kate Skinner – SOS Coordinator – (082) 926-6404
Patrick Craven – Spokesperson Cosatu – (082) 821-7456
Matankana Mothapo – Spokesperson Communications Workers Union – (082) 759-0900
Oupa Lebogo – General Secretary – Creative Workers Union – (084)511-8763
William Bird – Director Media Monitoring Africa – (082) 887-1370
Faiza Smith – Director Misa-SA – (076) 995-9513
Hannes du Buisson – General Secretary Bemawu – (082) 920-8669

No comments: