The DFA was established in 2007 to promote and protect the interests of doc filmmakers in South Africa. To contact the DFA, please use the contact form: here . The DFA website is at: Membership applications can be made through the website here.

31 January 2011

Sundance 2011 Awards

Happy, Happy, Hell and Back Again, How to Die in Oregonand Like Crazy Earn Grand Jury Prizes Audience Favorites Include Buck, Circumstance, Kinyawarandaand Senna to.get.her Awarded Best of NEXT! Audience Award

Posted Jan 29, 2011

Park City, UT-The Jury, Audience, NEXT! and other special award-winners of the 2011 Sundance Film Festival were announced tonight at the Festival's Awards Ceremony hosted by Tim Blake Nelson (star of Flypaper which premiered in this year's Premieres section) in Park City, Utah. Highlights from the Awards Ceremony can be seen on the Festival website,

Films receiving Jury Awards were selected from four categories: U.S. Dramatic Competition, U.S. Documentary Competition, World Cinema Dramatic Competition and World Cinema Documentary Competition. All films in competition were also eligible for Sundance Film Festival Audience Awards as selected by Festival audiences. The U.S. Audience Awards presented by Acura were announced by Ray Liotta, and the World Cinema Audience Awards were announced by Joshua Leonard. Vera Farmiga announced the Best of NEXT! Audience Award.

Jury Prizes in Shorts Filmmaking were awarded to American and international short-form films on Tuesday, January 25. Other awards recognized at the ceremony included the inaugural Sundance Institute/Mahindra Global Filmmaking Award, in recognition and support of emerging independent filmmakers from around the world, the Sundance Institute/NHK Award, created to honor and support emerging filmmakers with their next screenplays, and the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize, awarded to a film which excels in addressing compelling topics in science or technology.

John Cooper, Director of the Sundance Film Festival said, "Success at Sundance can be measured in terms of attendance, sponsorships, acquisitions, even the weather. Ultimately, it's about the films themselves - were they well received? Did they resonate with the audience enough to have a life beyond these 10 days? And this year, the answer is a resounding yes."
Added Sundance Institute Executive Director Keri Putnam, "For an artist to make it to the Festival among 10,000 submissions is an incredible achievement in his or her own right. We are so appreciative of all who shared their work with us this year, and we commend audiences and juries alike for selecting such a wide range of outstanding films."

The 2011 Sundance Film Festival Juries consisted of:
U.S. Documentary Competition: Jeffrey Blitz, Matt Groening, Laura Poitras, Jess Search, Sloane Klevin; U.S. Dramatic Competition: America Ferrera, Todd McCarthy, Tim Orr, Kimberly Peirce, Jason Reitman; World Cinema Documentary Competition: José Padilha, Mette Hoffmann Meyer, Lucy Walker; World Cinema Dramatic Competition: Susanne Bier, Bong Joon-Ho, Rajendra Roy; Shorts Competition: Barry Jenkins, Kim Morgan, Sara Bernstein; Alfred P. Sloan Award: Jon Amiel, Paula Apsell, Sean Carroll, Clark Gregg.

Please follow this link to read the rest and learn which movies won.

On The Documentary Blog you can get to the winners quicker.

No comments: