The DFA was established in 2007 to promote and protect the interests of doc filmmakers in South Africa. To contact the DFA, please use the contact form: here . The DFA website is at: Membership applications can be made through the website here.

10 August 2011

the 6th SAFTAs Call for Entries

03 August 2011: The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) organizers of the popular industry awards, South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAS) calls for local productions to submit their entries for 2012. The entries open on Wednesday 3rd of August 2011 and will close on Monday 5th of September 2011.

Only South African films or television productions/programmes that have been produced and publicly exhibited or broadcast between 1st of April 2010 until the 31st of July 2011 are eligible for entry.

Since its official launch in 2005, the SAFTAS has been successfully managed under the custodianship of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF). The broadcasters M-Net,, Top TV and SABC; distributors, Ster Kinekor, indigenous Films and Nu Metro play an important role in supporting the awards.

The SAFTA are an industry initiative governed by a body of industry representatives SASFED, SABC,, M-Net and the NFVF and is managed by the custodianship of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) under whose values the essence of the awards are encapsulated, those of Creativity, Freedom of expression, Entrepreneurship and Equitable redress.

"The SAFTAS has truly become the premiere platform for recognizing talent in the industry. Since its inception the awards have grown from strength to strength attracting representatives from government, private sector and the industry. We encourage all eligible productions to participate in order to continue elevating the film and television status of our country," says Karen Son NFVF Acting CEO.

The SAFTAS has since its inception honoured individuals and productions in the following categories: TV Non-fiction, TV Fiction, Feature Films, Short Films Student Films and Animation with Special Lifetime achievement awards given to those esteemed individuals who have long served the industry in various categories.
As with the previous years the public will play a pivotal role in the Soapie category by voting for their best soapie. Previous winners of this category include Generations and Seven de Laan.

Download the Rules and Guidelines. All the entries should be submitted through an online entry system which can be found on the SAFTA Entries website. Closing date 05th of September 2011 16h00.

The judging panels will this year be made up of previous SAFTAS winners and nominees from the past 5 years. This is in a bid to begin the development of the SA Film & TV Academy. As with previous years, the judging process will be overseen and verified by independent auditors.

The winners will be presented with the official SAFTA trophy, the Golden Horn, at a glittering ceremony in February 2012 that will host the cream of South African talent, leading personalities, key government and private sector, VIP's and media.

The SAFTAS honour, celebrate and promote the creativity, quality and excellence of South African Film and Television talent and productions, and encourage entrepreneurship and the development of new talent within the industry.

For more information email Communications & Public Affairs Naomi Mokhele or project coordinator Carla Dias.

Original post here.

No comments: